MICROBIOLOGY FACULTY DIRECTORY

 

Jerri Bartholomew Professor, Head,
Emile F. Pernot Distinguished Professorship
Salmon disease, Fish parasites

Nash Hall 230; 524
bartholj@science.oregonstate.edu
541-737-1834; 2977 lab

 luiz Luiz Bermudez Distinguished Professor
Tuberculosis and related functions
Dryden Hall 105
luiz.bermudez@oregonstate.edu
541-737-6538; 8025 lab
 peter Peter Bottomley Professor Emeritus
Soil microbiology
Nash Hall 348
peter.bottomley@oregonstate.edu
541-737-1844; 4136 lab
lb
 

Linda Bruslind Senior Instructor/Lead Advisor

Nash Hall 322
bruslindl@oregonstate.edu
541-737-1842
theo Theo Dreher  Professor
Freshwater cyanobacterial blooms and cyanophages
Agriculture and Life Science 1065
theo.dreher@oregonstate.edu
541-737-1795; 1796 lab

Katharine Field Professor
Environmental contamination by pathogenic bacteria

Nash Hall 424
kate.field@oregonstate.edu
541-737-1837; 2572 lab
 geller Bruce Geller Professor Emeritus
Antisense antibiotics
Nash Hall 434
gellerb@oregonstate.edu
541-737-1845; 1846 lab
 Giovannoni Stephen Giovannoni Distinguished Professor
Systems biology of a small ocean bacteria
Nash Hall 248
steve.giovannoni@oregonstate.edu
541-737-1835; 3334/8966 labs
 Halsey Kimberly Halsey Assistant Professor
Environmental microbiology; Phytoplankton ecophysiology
Nash Hall 354
halseyk@science.oregonstate.edu
541-737-1831; 1806 lab
 kent Michael Kent Professor
Fish disease, Parasitology; Pathogens of zebrafish
Nash Hall 532
michael.kent@oregonstate.edu
541-737-8652; 1858 lab
 

Malcolm Lowry Assistant Professor (Senior Research) 
Immunology Instruction

Linus Pauling Science Center 453
malcolm.lowry@oregonstate.edu
541-737-8309
 Mueller Ryan Mueller Assistant Professor
Aquatic food webs
Nash Hall 448
ryan.mueller@oregonstate.edu
541-737-2950; 1848 lab
 Ream Walt Ream Professor
Agrobacterium as a plant pathogenic bacterium
Agriculture and Life Science 1081
reamw@oregonstate.edu
541-737-1791
  George Rohrmann Professor Emeritus
Insect virology; Baculo- and retroviruses
Nash Hall 258
rohrmanng@oregonstate.edu
 sarker Mahfuzur Sarker  Professor
Clostridium perfringens toxins and spores
Dryden Hall 216
sarkerm@oregonstate.edu
541-737-6918
 martin Martin Schuster Associate Professor
Bacterial communication
Nash Hall 422
martin.schuster@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3496
 sharpton Thomas Sharpton Assistant Professor
Microbiome ecology, evolution and function

Nash Hall 530
thomas.sharpton@oregonstate.edu
541-737-8623

 Andrew Thurber photo Andrew Thurber Assistant Professor
Microbe-metazoan interactions; Deep-Sea and polar ecology

Burt Hall 214
athurber@coas.oregonstate.edu
http://blogs.oregonstate.edu/colddarkbenthos/
541-737-4500

 Janine Janine Trempy Professor
Microbial Applications, Biopolymers, Probiotics, Biosensors
Nash Hall 220
trempyj@oregonstate.edu
541-737-4441
 rebecca Rebecca Vega-Thurber Associate Professor
Environmental virology and microbiology;
Metagenomics and marine disease ecology

Nash Hall 454
rebecca.vega-thurber@oregonstate.edu
541-737-1851; Lab 541-737-7793

 

 

ADJUNCT FACULTY

 
 bakalinsky Alan Bakalinsky Associate Professor
Characterization and improvement of industrial yeasts;
Fermentation processes for production of biofuels

Dept. of Food Science & Technology
Wiegand 216
alan.bakalinsky@oregonstate.edu
541-737-6510

 colwell Frederick Colwell Professor
Microbial ecology
College of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences
Weniger 519
rcolwell@coas.oregon
541-737-5220
morrie Morrie Craig Professor
Rumen microbiology

Department of Biomedical Sciences
139 Oak Creek Building
a.morrie.craig@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3036

 Crump Byron Crump Associate Professor
Microbial ecology; Biological oceanography

College of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences
Burt Hall 342
bcrump@coas.oregonstate.edu
541-737-4369

 Brian Dolan Brian Dolan Assistant Professor
Immunology
Department of Biomedical Sciences
Dryden Hall 215
brian.dolan@oregonstate.edu
541-737-0828
 hase2 Claudia Häse Associate Professor (Senior Research)
Pathogenesis of Vibrio cholerae
Department of Biomedical Sciences
Veterinary Research Lab 118A
hasec@science.oregonstate.edu
541-737-7001; 6866 lab
  Ling Jin Associate Professor
Virology, Herpes virus

Department of Biomedical Sciences
Dryden Hall 214
ling.jin@oregonstate.edu
541-737-9893

David Myrold Professor
Soil Microbiology, Forest Soils
Department of Crop and Soil Science
Ag & Life Sciences Building 3127
david.myrold@oregonstate.edu
541-737-5737
 pastey Manoj Pastey Associate Professor
Immunology; Virology
College of Veterinary Medicine
Magruder Hall 105

manoj.pastey@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3940
dan rockey

Daniel Rockey Professor
Pathogenesis of Chlamydia

Department of Biomedical Science
Dryden Hall 211
rockeyd@oregonstate.edu
541-737-2485; 0614 lab
Luis Sayavedra-Soto Professor (Senior Research)
Molecular biology
Department of Botany and Plant Pathology
Cordley 4097
sayavedl@science.oregonstate.edu
541-737-5285
natalia Natalia Shulzhenko Assistant Professor
Adaptive immune system
Department of Biomedical Science
Dryden Hall 105
natalia.shulzhenko@oregonstate.edu
541-737-1051
 sikora Aleksandra Sikora Assistant Professor
Bacterial pathogenesis
College of Pharmacy
Pharmacy 403
aleksandra.sikora@oregonstate.edu
541-737-5811
  Joy Waite-Cusic Assistant Professor
Food microbiology; Food safety

Department of Food Science and Technology
Weigand Hall 9B
joy.waite-cusic@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3131